represents Canada on the Commonwealth Telecommunications Council. It reports to Parliament through the Minister of Communications.

**Telesat Canada**. Telesat Canada was incorporated in 1969 by an act of Parliament (RSC 1970, c.T-4). Its objectives are to establish satellite telecommunication systems providing telecommunication services on a commercial basis. The recommendations of a government task force on satellite policy and the use of satellite technology for domestic communications, appointed in 1967, and a 1968 White Paper based to a large extent on those recommendations preceded the establishing legislation.

The authorized capital of the corporation consists of 10 million common shares without par value and 5 million preferred shares with a par value of \$10 per share. At the end of 1972, there were 6 million common shares issued and outstanding. The corporation will ultimately be owned by three main groups of shareholders: the federal government, the telecommunications common carriers and the general public. Currently, the corporation is owned by the first two groups.

Telesat is not a Crown corporation, nor is it an agent of Her Majesty. Its annual report is tabled in the House of Commons by the Minister of Communications.

**Textile and Clothing Board.** This board was established (SC 1971, c.39) to receive complaints and conduct inquiries about textile and clothing goods imported into Canada under such conditions as to cause or threaten serious injury to Canadian production. After its investigative procedures are completed, the board makes written recommendations to the Minister of Industry, Trade and Commerce. The board consists of three members appointed by the Governor in Council and maintains its head office in the National Capital Region.

**Treasury Board.** The Treasury Board was first established as a committee of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada by Order in Council PC 3 of July 2, 1867, and was made a statutory committee in 1869. The Minister of Finance was appointed Chairman of the Board, with four other Privy Councillors to be designated as members by the Governor in Council. The Secretary of the Board and the members of his staff were employed by the Department of Finance.

By the Government Organization Act, 1966 (SC 1966, c.25) the board was established as a separate department of government with its own minister, the President of the Treasury Board. The committee constituting the Treasury Board includes, in addition to the president, the Minister of Finance and four other Privy Councillors.

The Financial Administration Act (RSC 1970, c.F-10), defines the Treasury Board's responsibilities as the central management agency of government. These responsibilities include the organization of the public service, financial management, annual and longer-term expenditure planning, and expenditure control, including allocation of resources among departments and agencies of government; management of personnel functions in the public service; and improvement in the efficiency of management and administration in the public service.

The Treasury Board Secretariat is divided into six branches. The Administrative Policy Branch is responsible for the development, interpretation, dissemination and evaluation of policies, guidelines and regulations in administrative areas, and other administrative inputs to government operations such as accommodation, travel, contracting, electronic data processing and real property management, with a view to ensuring probity and prudence in the acquisition of administrative inputs as well as their effective and efficient use in support of departmental programs. The Planning Branch is responsible for the development and application of systems and procedures for evaluating the effectiveness and efficiency of programs and projects and for providing advice and planning assistance for organizational change in government. The Personnel Policy Branch is responsible for all matters relating to personnel management in the public service including human resources requirements, human resources development and training, classification, compensation benefits, collective bargaining and staff relations in general.

The Official Languages Branch is responsible for the development, monitoring, evaluation and communication of the federal government's official languages policies and programs and for the implementation of the Official Languages Act within the public service. The Program Branch is responsible for analyzing the policy, program and project proposals of departments and recommending to the Treasury Board an optimum allocation of available financial and manpower resources to achieve program objectives, and for expenditure control and estimates preparation.

The Financial Administration Branch is responsible for the development, evaluation, and maintenance of the policies, standards, guidelines and systems which govern the financial administration and internal audit functions of the Government of Canada.

Unemployment Insurance Commission. In August 1977 the commission, which had been established under the provisions of the Unemployment Insurance Act, was merged with the Department of Manpower and Immigration into one organization, the Canada Employment and Immigration Commission. (See entries for the Department of Manpower and Immigration and the Canada Employment and Immigration Commission.)